Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
King cropped.jpg




Bingham Academy uses the Cambridge International Curriculum as follows: KG – Grade 5 use the Cambridge International Primary Curriculum, Grades 6-8 follow the Cambridge International Lower Secondary Curriculum, Grades 9-10 pursue the International General Certificate in Secondary Education (IGCSE) leading to the ICE Diploma and Grades 11-12 study the Cambridge International AS and A Levels leading to the AICE Diploma.

Curriculum objectives, planning and assessment are all based on this system. Further information about the Cambridge International Curriculum can be found at

Our student body consists of 35 different nationalities. We want all students to acquire respect for their own cultures and those of others. This process includes learning about cultures and customs through Social Studies, Literature and the Arts. It also requires a variety of teaching and assessment styles, knowledge of differences in spelling, punctuation, pronunciation and vocabulary. Students should be familiar with both Imperial and Metric measurements, as well as local currency and that of their countries of origin.

Elementary School (Grades KG1 to 5)

In KG1 and KG2, the students transition from play based learning to a more structured approach. Themes that integrate a variety of subject areas are used with a strong focus on literacy, numeracy and interpersonal skills. Grades 1 to 5 students are taught the core subjects (Mathematics, Literacy, Science and Social Studies) alongside special subjects (Art, Music, Physical Education, Library, Information Technology and Amharic language).

Middle School (Grades 6 to 8)

In the Middle School, students are taught the following subjects: Bible, English, Mathematics, Science (a combination of Biology, Chemistry and Physics), Social Studies (Geography and History), Physical Education, Music, a foreign language (a choice of French, Spanish or Amharic), a semester of Information and Communication Technology and a semester of either Visual Arts or Drama.

High School (Grades 9 to 12)

In Grades 9 and 10, students are taught the following core subjects: Bible (O Level Religious Studies- Bible Knowledge), English, Mathematics, Science (a combination of Biology, Chemistry and Physics) and Physical Education. Students then study a selection of elective subjects which include a choice of either Geography or History, a choice of foreign language and a choice of either Art and Design, Information and Communication Technology or Physical Education. All subjects offered are IGCSE subjects except core Physical Education and Amharic, which are school based courses.

In the final years of High School, students can choose a combination of AS and A Level CIE courses and some school developed courses. The CIE courses consist of English Language, English Literature, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, History (History of the USA/European History), Geography, Business Studies and French. Other CIE courses are available depending on student interest and teacher availability. School based courses include Bible, Algebra 2, Sports Science and Personal Social Development. Students also participate in a number of Community Service projects during their High School years.

Bingham Academy Graduates

Graduates of Bingham Academy have been accepted into a wide range of colleges and universities around the world including in the USA, UK, Dubai, Canada, New Zealand, Europe and Australia.